Enter your keyword

The Emerald Atlas by John Stephens

The Emerald Atlas by John Stephens

Emerald AtlasKate, Michael, and Emma are sibling who have been tossed from orphanage to orphanage, something found terribly wrong with them at each one.  Kate, the oldest, is left with the task of trying to mother her siblings; Michael, studious and obsessed with dwarves; and Emma, the youngest and a fighter.  Eventually the three are shipped to Cambridge Falls to live with the mysterious Dr. Pym and his orphanage.  The first thing that the three recognize in their new and dilapidated surroundings is that there are no other children.  What sort of orphanage only has three children? they ask.  While exploring the house they discover an old study with a mysterious green book.  As they play around and explore the room, they drop a picture into the book and immediately disappear.  They reappear in a younger, more tragic Cambridge Falls to discover that an exotic beauty, The Countess, has imprisoned all of the children as collateral for the men of the village to dig deeper and work harder to find a magical object.

The three travel through time, back and forth, meeting new friends and old enemies; being imprisoned by a dwarf king and searching under the world; running from monsters and rescuing one another in turn.  Overall, this work is a very engaging tale that combines elements of “The Series of Unfortunate Events” by Lemony Snicket, “The Chronicles of Narnia” by C.S. Lewis, and “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children” by Ransom Riggs.

Another perk?  The audio version is read by Jim Dale who read the American version of the “Harry Potter” series by J.K. Rowling and “The Night Circus” by Erin Morgenstern.

– a post from Sarah

One Comment

  1. […] sequel to The Emerald Atlas picks up nine months later with Kate, Michael, and Emma back in their rather disagreeable Baltimore […]

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.